I think I have a right to be upset. I am upset NOT because the following is a picture of Representative Anthony Weiner‘s wiener, but because the explosion of attention this wiener has received is a distraction from critical issues on which the media and Americans should be focused.Am I the only one who feels manipulated when these distractions start to propagate, and pick up furious momentum?

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think this is a totally trivial issue. Weiner has displayed a lack of trust and communication, primarily with his wife. But that’s it–an issue with his friends, family and the recipients of his photos and messages. That being said, this is how it seems at the time being. Nancy Pelosi has initiated an investigation by the House Ethics Committee, which may determine if anything else was or is going on here.

 

I challenge everyone who reads this post to spend a minute today that they could have spent reading about Weiner’s wiener, and instead, try to find something worthy of focus that otherwise would fall on blind (or blindfolded) eyes.

